{Reservations} {Tickets} {Map} {Photos} {Souvaniers} {Postcards} {Design}

2002-09-19 | 7:23 a.m.

Our quiet little facility had not one but 2 codes go out 911 yesterday. One on my unit, and one down on South Shore.

Both of them had been admitted within just a day or so, hence L&M is looking like chit. Big, stinky, corn-n-carrotbits-riddled chit.

Tuesday was just about the most frustrating workday I've had in several years. Seriously, I had one of those 'cap' headaches by 10 am.

Wednesday was a very close second. One cna and me with 9 patients. At 8am it was clear that our newest male admit was gonna need a 1:1 babysitter, but we don't have those..... 8:10am my little Mrs. D was having CP unrelieved by nitro... Oh and Mr. P couldn't breathe, and when Mrs. W saw that she wasn't getting quite enough attention or whatever, SHE said she couldn't breath either, AND I had someone with his ride waiting to take him home at 9:30ish for discharge, so could I please get his stuff ready, too? At noon, when the lunch trays arrived, I decided to feed Mr. WigglewormUncooperativePants, and carried his tray into his room. He was soaking wet with sweat, cold, barely responsive, blood glucose 249 (no history of diabetes) with periods of apnea, the 02sat machine said his sats were falling rapidly... time to call 911.

"CODE BLUE TO NORTH STAR, ATTENTION ALL STAFF. CODE BLUE TO NORTH STAR"

He went to the hospital and died within an hour.

The afternoon did have a bright spot, tho. Cara swam in her first meet and she did a great job. Diary, you should see the reach the girl has. Here's hoping she goes to college on an athletic scholarship.

<< | >>

Miss These?

absence of life - 2003-07-28
death cake - 2003-07-08
I won't let this age me. - 2003-07-06
Goodbye Jeffrey - 2003-06-19
Thanks but no thanks. - 2003-06-11

{Host}