{Reservations} {Tickets} {Map} {Photos} {Souvaniers} {Postcards} {Design}

2002-06-01 | 7:36 p.m.

Today was one of the most perfect days of my entire life. My girls are with me. The sun is shining so warm and bright, that the laundry is drying in 20 minutes flat. We have everything we need and more.

For some reason, amid all this glowing perfection, I keep remembering the conversation I had with David when we attended Julia's funeral. Approaching the grave site, we passed several large stone statues with the likeness of Jesus on them... some quite morbid, but one in particular was almost, well, gay. The outline of his entire body was carved into the front of a 15 foot stone cross. David looked at it, and said "See, why can't they all look like that..... He looks good there....Jesus has been working out, look... He's Showtunes Jesus, Pam! Showtunes Jesus and Karaoke Jehovah! heheheheheheh!!!!"

So we stood graveside, and suppressed giggles, pretending grief was making us wince and tear. The sun shone warm and bright that day too. But I didn't do laundry on that fine day. I went to a funeral and laffed.

<< | >>

Miss These?

absence of life - 2003-07-28
death cake - 2003-07-08
I won't let this age me. - 2003-07-06
Goodbye Jeffrey - 2003-06-19
Thanks but no thanks. - 2003-06-11

{Host}