{Reservations} {Tickets} {Map} {Photos} {Souvaniers} {Postcards} {Design}

2003-05-02 | 8:43 p.m.

This morning, at approx. 11 a.m. something out of the ordinary happened. I stood up, gathered myself up and walked away. From a jackass. And I liked it.

You see, Diary, there is a Performance Realty in Norwich on Rt. 82. Next door to that office is a house that's owned apparently by 2 of the agents at the realty office.

Without an appointment, one of these agents showed me around a very pretty 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom house with a detatched 2 car garage. Initially it seemed quite wonderful, until we got down to the basement. Yes, as I feared, in a house that the agent claimed "no one had anything bad to say about, except that it's on a very busy street" were several puddles of standing water in the basement. One of which stagnated directly in the spot that a washer and dryer would need to hook up. Fine. My current place has a wet basement at times, and we just make due.

I then asked if the 20 dollar charge for a credit check was refundable with my first month's rent. "OOh no, no, that charge is NOT REFUNDABLE." ah ok, so I will be paying you for the privledge of wrecking my already horrible credit further still. hmm.

Finding myself in the office, with blue pen in hand filling out the official-looking 'credit ap' I offer my last 16 months of cancelled rent checks, my pay stub, and my most current month's bank statement, showing the automatic depostis of child support and my paychecks. I once again tell the agents that my credit is quite poor, but hopefully these documents will speak well of me.

[Enter Psychotic Biotch]

And she asks me many personal questions, and she wants to know about my grown children that don't even live with me anymore, and "Would I mind mowing the lawn? Would I mind buying the lawn mower?" hmmm, well sure, as it will be my mower and i'll just take it with me when i move, so ok.

"OOh and ... Mike, did I notice that the oil tank is empty? Yes? You don't mind that you will have to buy oil from our contracted company, and no other, right? And I'll need to be reimbursed when I call and ask them to come fill the tank, ok? No problem?"you knew there was no oil and yet you won't start my lease with a half full tank so i can move in with a couple of weeks of hot running water, just to save a few measley bucks?

"OOH and OOH yea, did anyone mention the CAT DEPOSIT???"

WhoooOOOooooOOOOOOooooOOOOOOooaah right there.

'cat deposit?' I quickly said that I got a gut feeling that this wasn't a good idea, and I would need to leave. Her jaw swung open and hit the table and she kept muttering something about "what just happened? wait, that was weird." Kept stressing the word 'weird' as if to suggest that I was flaking out on her. As if I needed to be more cooperative lest I be considered nuts. As if I had some explaining to do.

Realtors, I am the kind of tenant you want. I pay my rent on time every month. I do not have a live in boyfriend of any kind, therefore ZERO DRAMA. I don't even call a lawyer when my landlord neglects the upkeep on the yard, causing my daughter to fall over a nasty bush causing a terrible compound ankle fracture with what looks like a permanent limp and big ugly scar on her ankle for THE REST OF HER LIFE. I could have filed against my landlord's homeowner's policy. But that would be unreasonable, since kids will do this wild, irrational thing call 'play' and sometimes they will even go as far as to lose all control and 'jump' when out of doors.

I am looking to rent a home to "live in", they are hoping to rent a house to 'not live in'.

Yea, I'm crazy. Crazy like a fox. I got out of there before laying down a single penny. Oh btw, they wanted 1250.00 a month, plus 1250.00 security.

<< | >>

Miss These?

absence of life - 2003-07-28
death cake - 2003-07-08
I won't let this age me. - 2003-07-06
Goodbye Jeffrey - 2003-06-19
Thanks but no thanks. - 2003-06-11

{Host}