{Reservations} {Tickets} {Map} {Photos} {Souvaniers} {Postcards} {Design}

2002-05-30 | 12:45 a.m.

Maybe I'm stupid to hope for something not worse than what the past year held for me. Am I being unrealistic?

At my old job, a deal was a deal. You agree to stay at work for a second shift, for your regular pay plus 50 bux. Next pay period, it was in your check. No problem.

Here, you have to sign a paper stating you will pick up an additional shift a week, for a minimum of 4 weeks, to get an extra 50 bux a week. If one of those shifts is only 6 hours long, you forfeit the entire (200 dollar) bonus. If you call in sick, you forfeit. If your hair grows faster than 1/4 in. a month, you forfeit. If you 'just ask if adding a particular shift will affect you' you will be added to the master schedule to work that shift faster than you can say "I Quit!", without an answer either in the afermative or negative.

I have never worked with slippery eels before. It sucks, because the real work isn't being up to your armpits in crap, or giving injections of thick, syrupey antipsychotics to combative folk, or feeling so frustrated you could cry. The real work is putting up with idiot coworkers and bosses.

<< | >>

Miss These?

absence of life - 2003-07-28
death cake - 2003-07-08
I won't let this age me. - 2003-07-06
Goodbye Jeffrey - 2003-06-19
Thanks but no thanks. - 2003-06-11

{Host}