{Reservations} {Tickets} {Map} {Photos} {Souvaniers} {Postcards} {Design}

2002-09-02 | 1:01 a.m.

Toni and I had a long talk last week. After growing up with minimal contact from our Dad, who has always lived less than 15 min. drive away, she has suddenly decided (again) that he is just a victim and my Mom was an ogre. I'm not exaggerating, Diary.

Apparently, Mom drove Toni crazy during the car ride to my uncle's funeral on Thursday or Friday. Toni said she lost her temper and said some terrible things. Considering how arguementative, accusatory, malodorous, negative, and confrontational my mom is nowadays, it's easy to imagine anyone being pushed to, and over the edge.

Many family members have mentioned that my Dad showed up at the funeral, and suprised everyone. So....... Toni is fed up to here *gesture to nose* with my Mom and in comes Dad, friendly, socially approprate, smelling like aftershave...

Toni said she went to Dad's a few days later and revisited old times with his clan. He maintains that my mom kept us away from him on more than one occasion by giving us permission to do other activities with friends and family during our pre-arranged visit time. Toni believes that it was ok for him to have an affair with Mom's best friend before getting a divorce because he was so unhappy. *note* Toni stole furs and jewels from my old, blind aunt to pawn the stuff and give the money to her BUM love interest. She also stole from the funds she was in charge of when her son was in organized sports. And Filenes jewelry counter when she was a kid working there. She has maintained 250+ lbs for the last ...um I wanna saaaaaaay... 5 years of her life, and had her stomach stapled in a final attempt to get control of eating.

Diary, I have been divorced and have kids. There was more than one occasion that I arrived to visit them, and found that they had decided to be somewhere else. Did it stop me from seeing them? No. Nothing would ever stop me from seeing my kids, even if they told me they didn't want me to come over. Too bad, I'd still come and demand to spend time with them. I'd go broke on lawyers, whatever it would take to be able to spend time with them.

Dad offered to take us to Disney with his new wife and family. As I remember it, my Mom said we could go on vacation with him anywhere, but she didn't like the idea of us being in the company of his wife, and her children (who btw, never liked us even when she and my Mom were friends). His wife's name was in the paper a few years ago. She was arrested for stealing from the tenants in the apartment complex she manages. She too has always been very obese, at times 300+ due partly b/c she is almost 6 ft. tall. And a pig.

When we were grown, he wasn't terribly commited to mending things with us. I personally didn't want him around. The moron jumped at the chance to walk away from us.

Which brings us to today. At the store, I noticed his wife ahead on my left. He was on my right, 20 or so feet away. [He has left a couple of phone messages, one of them stating that he stopped by once to say 'hi'...(ok, that creeped me out) which I never responded to.]

I look alot different, Diary, so he didn't recognize me immedately, but he started to say something as I walked past without acknowledgeing either of them, and I heard him clip the exhalation. No doubt as a response to a look from his wife. She realized it was me. I'm sure of it.

And so.... some things never change. Don't get me wrong, Diary. The phone messages were intentionally ignored. I do not want him or any of his involved in any way with my life. My home won't be contaminated by past poisons allowed to bleed thru the cracks in the door.

<< | >>

Miss These?

absence of life - 2003-07-28
death cake - 2003-07-08
I won't let this age me. - 2003-07-06
Goodbye Jeffrey - 2003-06-19
Thanks but no thanks. - 2003-06-11

{Host}