{Reservations} {Tickets} {Map} {Photos} {Souvaniers} {Postcards} {Design}

2002-06-13 | 10:24 p.m.

Is it my imagination, or has there been a general increase in shitheaditis in the Connecticut population? Except for a week's vacation, I haven't been out of state since September 11, 2001. There has been, in my estimation, more nastiness, self-serving, and all around !!screw-you!!-ism than I ever remember before.

At work, it's literally every person for himself. In the grocery store parking lot, folks are walking slowly to watch for any possible sign that will fuel a law suit. A week ago, I opened the rental-car (cherry red Chevy Cavalier)and while still holding onto the door, I allowed it to touch... and I mean ** t o u c h ** the car next to mine. Inside of that car sat an elderly black woman, who scared the crap out of me when she screeched at me "sorry ain't gonna cut it if you scratched it!" to which I replied "I didn't." A few days later, I saw a couple: woman parking the new car, man standing outside of it, directing her to park it 'just so'. Inside, they don't behave any better.

When my ex's house was about to be foreclosed upon, I had several dozen phone calls from an interested woman, who was offering me bribes to try to ensure she get her hands on the property. I informed her that I no longer had any claim on the land, and I would forward her number to the responsible party. She called me at least another 6 times, once even calling me at work. *sigh*

This week, I expected 3 days of orientation to my new facility. 2 on day shift and one on 2nd. I got to work today, and looked on the list for my name and assignment..... nope. No 2nd shift orientation for me. Guess I performed sooooooo well on my first 2 days, that my reward is to get no orientation for 2nd shift; not even a phone call to tell me that I needen't come in at 3pm.

Certainly takes the motivation to provide good care out of my sails. Or to even care, about anyone or anything besides the girls and me.

Until now, I couldn't fathom why or how someone would come home from work and drink, drink, drink themselves into oblivion. While I haven't started drinking, it doesn't seem so crazy anymore.

<< | >>

Miss These?

absence of life - 2003-07-28
death cake - 2003-07-08
I won't let this age me. - 2003-07-06
Goodbye Jeffrey - 2003-06-19
Thanks but no thanks. - 2003-06-11

{Host}