{Reservations} {Tickets} {Map} {Photos} {Souvaniers} {Postcards} {Design}

2002-12-05 | 9:27 p.m.

The Day Wednesday Dec. 4th, 2002

In an article written by Robert Hamilton, local's were quoted as saying that "With hundreds of other units being renovated or planned in the downtown, the effects could transform the city...." and "The stars are sort of lining up this time,... I think this time, something is going to work." Michael Joplin, president of the New London Development Corp. said all four of the units (above a florist on State Street) rented within a week of coming on the market, despite predictions that the prices were too high for New London. Joplin's company is developing 15 more in the Cronin Building downtown.

I read this article, folded up the section into a neat square, and walked to the keyboard with the words lining up in my head, and a tender ache in my chest.

New London is my home, Mr. Hamilton. As a teenager, I attended the public high school, met my future husband there, and rented apartments in the city until we could afford to buy place out in the "country". Despite that little town's reputation for a marvelous grade school, we talked and decided to enrole our children in the Magnet school, right in the middle of it all. Presently, our two daughters attend New London public schools. I live on a quite side street, and it's alright. But my heart isn't here, you see. It is and has been for quite some time, downtown, looking out at the Thames, over the railroad tracks.

If I could even nearly afford a place downtown, I'd be there tomorrow. I love New London, now more than ever. The place is finally 'pinking up', if you'll excuse a worn out health-care term. Our public library, our parks that play under the noses of big, old victorian houses that are now often used as offices but used, nonetheless. The hill at New London High School, where my kids sailed on purple and white snowtubes each winter. Downtown, where you can get a delicious cup of coffee for a dollar, and sip while you read the local paper. Did you ever look off the south bound side of the Gold Star Bridge at night, toward the Academy and the Base? It's beautiful! You might think that an experienced nurse could stay here and make a life for her teenagers, but in this case it isn't so. I'm both heartbroken and happy. It's about time New London stood up proud, and got recognition for the wonderful teachers, generous shop owners, hard-working healthcare professionals and many folks that volunteer their time to make this a nice place to call home. And that makes it even a bit harder to have to say "Goodbye and good fortune" to my home town. Maybe this time, something really is going to work after all.

Yours,

Pamela Roman LPN

*Yes, Diary, I'm sending this to Mr. Robert Hamilton. It's very important that our local newspaper writers know we're reading their stuff.

<< | >>

Miss These?

absence of life - 2003-07-28
death cake - 2003-07-08
I won't let this age me. - 2003-07-06
Goodbye Jeffrey - 2003-06-19
Thanks but no thanks. - 2003-06-11

{Host}