{Reservations} {Tickets} {Map} {Photos} {Souvaniers} {Postcards} {Design}

2002-09-21 | 8:28 p.m.

Good news and bad news....

My cousin Lynn has been waiting for what feels like decades to finally adopt, and she got news this week that the adoption of a beautiful 8mo old baby boy is final. The little pumpkin will be coming home on Thursday.

Also....

Her older brother, Jeff. He's 39. He's a good Daddy. Two great little boys. Sweetheart of a wife. He was short of breath the other day and followed up with the doc. Jeff has lung cancer.

He might be gone before either of his sons will play on the highschool baseball team. Heading out to my Mom's with some pre-packaged meals I fixed for her, unshowered, teeth still slimey, I just didn't care if she has been miserable and difficult, or if my kids hadn't even had breakfast yet, at 10:30 a.m. (due to laziness, certainly not a lack of food). Realization after realization pushed in. His wife will be alone. His parents will probably outlive their own son. His nieces and nephews won't see him in attendance at graduations or weddings. His parents. They must be reeling. His Dad just lost an older brother a few weeks ago, and now .....

<< | >>

Miss These?

absence of life - 2003-07-28
death cake - 2003-07-08
I won't let this age me. - 2003-07-06
Goodbye Jeffrey - 2003-06-19
Thanks but no thanks. - 2003-06-11

{Host}