{Reservations} {Tickets} {Map} {Photos} {Souvaniers} {Postcards} {Design}

2002-08-06 | 11:16 a.m.

There are two kinds of people in the world.

The first kind gets uncomfortable when they hear the words "Oh damn, I gotta go to the bathroom soooo bad." Even more uncomfortable if the statement is coming from someone they care about.

The second kind is not affected in any way by this statement, no matter who says it.

My mission for the day is to figure out how to convert from one kind to the other.

Then there's the problem of Chinese water torture. Amazingly enough, the process is nothing more than a drop of water *plopping* down, over and over again. Diary, I honestly can't remember the last time a drippy faucet caused me to lay awake at night, but there have been times when I've almost torn the skin of my palms trying to fix a kitchen faucet that was getting on my last nerve in the afternoon.

So, were the drops of water unusually large? Was the sink basin unusually deep and resonant? Was I ragging? NO.

It was too quiet. If I had something else turned on, something pleasant, like... ELO's greatest hits playing on the tape player, or if there was a very busy city street below, sending traffic noises thru an open window... I would have been blissfully unaware.

I went to the Sun last night. Tim and I had dinner at the Buffet, and strolled around a bit afterward to digest. When we got to the waterfall area, I couldn't believe how loud it was.

Lately, the incidence of overwhelming noise is on the rise. At work, there is constantly someone screaming, begging, strenuously pleading, singing, etc. At home, there's always a loud whir of fans in the background, and then sometimes the music and noise from a video game, too.

Now there's the phone ringing a good 75% more often, either for one of the kids, or me... family calling and freaking out about Toni or Mom, and expecting me to 'fix it.'

Why can't I find the ignore command in real life? The second kind of person knows where it's hidden. Is it under the tape player? Under the hood of a car? Under the top layer of a peanut butter pie?

<< | >>

Miss These?

absence of life - 2003-07-28
death cake - 2003-07-08
I won't let this age me. - 2003-07-06
Goodbye Jeffrey - 2003-06-19
Thanks but no thanks. - 2003-06-11

{Host}