{Reservations} {Tickets} {Map} {Photos} {Souvaniers} {Postcards} {Design}

2003-01-27 | 12:10 a.m.

In the Story of Us, the married couple had problems, and they both decided to work really really REALLY hard, and be completely selfless and put their kids first, and forgive, and forget.... FORGIVE AND FORGET..that deserved caps, at the very least because it's quite hard to forgive and even harder to forget..

I wanna see more of that.

At times, during my marriage when it was hard for me to even get into bed at night because I just knew Joe was going to ignore me again for the 1000th time and I would lie there until he fell asleep, and then go out onto the couch and cry cry cry myself to sleep for a few hours before the kids got up (this went on for 3 years, minimum) I used to think about how incredible it would feel to look at each other after we decided to work things out, and say "I love you so very much" and "Honey I'm sorry" and make that kind of love that's only made by people that have vowed to be together forever and ever, and have even triumphed over problems and kept their word to themselves and the whole world. Triumph thru forgiveness and the willing devotion and commitment which enables one to forget the hurt and tears.

I never had make-up sex, Diary. But that's not what I'm talking about, really. Triumph sex. Now that's what I'm talking about.

In sunday service today we learned that, aside from claiming to love God, we can do even more toward displaying our love. We can follow His advice, and listen to His warning by our actions. Put your money where your mouth is. Listen. Fear to displease Him; not a terror but a healthy concern to maintain a good conscience and freeness of speach when we talk to Him.

Where am I going with all of this Diary? I guess... I guess maybe I am thinking about our promises and commitments to ourselves, our marriage mates, and anyone else. Did I keep my word? Do I put my money where my mouth is?

I want to see a movie about a married couple who do. Woman on Top was one, and The Story of Us was. Hollywood, if you're reading, give us more of this shtuff! Show us Ralph Fiennes and JLo when they've been married for 10 years, and he's got a lovely paunch and a bald spot, and she's put on 15 lbs and they have twins with ADHD and severe dust allergies. I want to see them getting couples therapy, followed by him dragging her size 16 fanny into the bedroom for what we presume is some smokin` triumph sex.

<< | >>

Miss These?

absence of life - 2003-07-28
death cake - 2003-07-08
I won't let this age me. - 2003-07-06
Goodbye Jeffrey - 2003-06-19
Thanks but no thanks. - 2003-06-11

{Host}