{Reservations} {Tickets} {Map} {Photos} {Souvaniers} {Postcards} {Design}

2002-07-23 | 9:35 a.m.

Above my monitor, on the wall, there's a picture of a large, empty wagon. It's done all in shades of khaki/grey and white. There's a sad, empty, ramshackle barn behind the wagon. It reminds me of my grandparents farm, where I played with my fat, prejudice, ugly cousins and felt unloved and well...just 'different' most of the time.

When we were kids, my cousins were civil and tolerated us. We knew that our aunts and uncles gossiped about us when we weren't around, and the kids overheard and then studied us from the corners of their eyes to see if what they heard was indeed true.

The picture has a gold matting and extremely rustic, dark wood frame that's unvarnished. It screams "70's".

To the right side of it is a metal Route 66 street sign, and above that is an oval plaque with a picture of a cardinal on it. This stuff all reminds me of growing up in the country, and frankly, it's depressing the crap out of me today.

I'll either move it to the other wall, or take my desk and computer upstairs to my bedroom. More later, Diary....

<< | >>

Miss These?

absence of life - 2003-07-28
death cake - 2003-07-08
I won't let this age me. - 2003-07-06
Goodbye Jeffrey - 2003-06-19
Thanks but no thanks. - 2003-06-11

{Host}